Like an Open Book

Standard
*painting by Kay Crain*

*painting by Kay Crain*

 

I want to be able to read you like an open book
Though you seem more like a manuscript
Too valuable to be read by an ordinary, I am

Like a teenage girl’s diary, your mind
Complicated and secretive
The most precious belonging one could ever have
So precious that it is kept under the pillow and above dreams

I want to be able to read you like an open book
I want to steal your mind for awhile
But too afraid to wake you up from your beautiful dreams
And worried that if I did…
It would be empty pages inside the book
And not a single piece of me was ever written there

*Painting by Kay Crain

7 responses »

Leave a Reply

